Candy Kennedy – Trials and Errors

Shaping up

OldMosspaper

I’ve been working a dog that needs help staying correct on his flanks. Trainers often talk about “shaping” a dog (usually in reference to flanks and outruns). I enjoy spending time trying to figure out how to get into a dogs mind (almost as much as actual training) to help him work better – so this particular dog got me thinking about “shaping”.

It dawned on me that not only do we shape the dogs we work but at the same time they are shaping us. We become the trainers/handlers we are because of the dogs we work. They define what we want or need in a dog. They teach us just as much as we teach them IF we are willing to listen and learn.

My first couple of dogs were “work” dogs. They always got the job done even though they were “rough around the edges” they never quit or stopped giving it their all. They taught me that dogs can and do have a “work ethic” and I knew I would need that in all the dogs that followed.

I like a dog with plenty of forward because my first “trial” dog  although perfect for me at the time, didn’t have enough push. I had been told that sheep should walk the entire way around the course and I “took it to heart” and taught my dog that. End result (of course) was running out of time. So, that dog “shaped” my desire for one with push. This dog had perfect balance and pace but no push. Now, was that because I had “shaped” him to be slow and methodical or was that the ‘nature’ of the dog. I’ll never know … but I do know he taught me more than I taught him and I never made that mistake again.

Another dog I ran, had beautiful style, balance and pace and feel … but to much eye. As long as sheep were moving she looked beautiful … But, if sheep faced her she wanted to stop and stare when all she needed to do was just keep walking. So, she shaped me into wanting a dog with less eye. All that style didn’t get me anywhere if the sheep refused to move.

Then, I was “rewarded” with a dog with very little eye or feel. He got the job done but I never felt we had a ‘partnership’ because I had to tell him where to be every step around the course. Making me decide that perhaps … eye wasn’t so bad after all :@). It also impressed upon me … that I didn’t want a mechanical dog because I enjoy the interaction of handling a dog that reads his sheep.

I’ve worked dogs that only worked sheep by being pattern trained – never really understanding the ‘job’ at hand, never really knowing how to read their stock. I’ve worked line dogs that could hold a line to the next county but had no flank to them. I’ve worked dogs that flanked and had no forward to them. Some of these “types” can win dog trial by being handled every step of the way. Winning a dog trial didn’t make up for the fact that was not the way I wanted to work stock.

My point is … each and every dog I’ve trained, handled or trialed has put their ‘imprint’ on me. They have “shaped” me into the “trainer/handler” I am today. I have faults – they had faults but no matter what – we were both learning from each other – because I was always open to learning from them – sometimes what I didn’t want in a dog. Maybe, that’s why I buy and sell so many dogs … there’s nothing better than learning and what brings that out (in me) is a new challenge.

So, when you try to learn how train “by paper” (articles, books, magazine) try and remember how very complex this is. Everyone wants that elusive “how to train a dog” formula. The problem is that the main ingredients in the formula — the dog, handler and each’s experience — are never the same. I guess Nike had it right — “Just do it” and I might add enjoy the doing and the learning.

18 responses

  1. Donna

    Yes. So true. We need to be able to let go of our ego and learn what are dogs have to teach us.

    February 21, 2014 at 11:03 am

    • Donna Masrh

      “our” dogs, not “are” dogs. Oops.

      February 21, 2014 at 6:22 pm

      • Hey … I didn’t even notice … totally understood what you meant :@)

        February 21, 2014 at 6:27 pm

  2. That old “ego” thing does get in the way sometimes :@)

    February 21, 2014 at 11:04 am

  3. Keith Brooks

    Thank’s for the article Candy. Good food for thought.

    February 21, 2014 at 11:11 am

  4. Mary Lott

    Thank you, one of my mentors calls it sheep literacy.. and I want both my dog and I too have it…still on the road to l’arnin

    February 21, 2014 at 11:35 am

  5. Thanks guys!

    February 21, 2014 at 11:41 am

  6. Debbie Dunne

    Yup! Who needs cross words, when we have all of these puzzles to figure out?? Thanks for the reminder.

    February 21, 2014 at 11:55 am

  7. Jan Berger

    You have, in a nutshell, described what makes training a dog so challenging and so rewarding at times. It’s about the journey, IMO.

    February 21, 2014 at 5:54 pm

  8. Totally agree …. they are great teachers.

    February 21, 2014 at 6:15 pm

  9. Great read, great insights!

    February 21, 2014 at 8:01 pm

  10. Thanks :@)

    February 21, 2014 at 8:14 pm

  11. shari kennedy

    Thank you for your personal insights. Your words are very compelling and provide an excellent forum for my own personal struggles, celebrations an AhHa moments. I also appreciate your ability to capture the border collie in art form through your photos.

    February 22, 2014 at 7:58 am

  12. JUDY VANDERFORD

    Very well said Candy and oh so true. judy

    ________________________________

    February 22, 2014 at 2:39 pm

  13. Thanks Judy!

    February 22, 2014 at 2:56 pm

  14. This is one of your best, I learn from my dogs way more than they learn from me, being open to learning is the answer

    February 22, 2014 at 8:59 pm

  15. Thanks …appreciate it.

    February 24, 2014 at 7:00 pm

Leave a Reply

