Candy Kennedy – Trials and Errors

Why, why and why?

It’s “that” time of year where I spend more time mowing fields than actually working dogs. In some way it’s good as it gives the dogs a physical break and gives me some “mental time” working out issues I’m having with them. Although often I wonder if I “over think” things but to me figuring out the puzzle is 1/2 the fun of training. I’ve never been a “black and white” trainer and the “why” has always been a good mental exercise to get me “in the game”.

One dog I’m working is having occasional gripping issues. So, I’ve been trying to sort out what is happening prior to his gripping since I can’t fix the “what” without the “why”. Some trainers would just say “keep him out of the gripping zone” because if he’s not close he can’t grip — no argument there — but it’s more enjoyable to me to try and work through it. Takes longer and sometimes it doesn’t “fix” the problem. However, I enjoy the challenge of trying to figure out his thought process and correct it instead of just trying to keep it “controlled”.

Here are some of the things I’ve contemplated:@)

Is he just gripping on the fetch, the drive, the shed or just anywhere on the field?

Is it just at a certain distance – and if so is it because he can’t hear me or does he just get so “zoned” in on the sheep he forgets me?

Are my whistles too sharp, not clear and he’s not understanding them?

Is it when he gets to many commands in a row that he can’t mentally take all that “input”?

Is it when he feels he’s loosing control of his sheep?

Is it on heavy sheep, light sheep, running sheep – or ALL sheep.

Is it on both sides or just one direction?

Is it when he’s fresh and raring to go or when he gets tired and stops listening  … or can’t hear because of  pressure “overload”?

What is the correlation between the physical movement and the grip. What is he doing (thinking) that is causing him to react instead of think.

A lot of this particular dogs issue is tension which worsens by getting close to his sheep.  When flanking he takes a couple of good flanks and then just reacts instead of flanking. This reaction causes a “slicey flank” and he finds himself in the middle of sheep and grips. So, yes, I could just lie him down before I flank him. However, since I’m trying to fix it (not control it) …. I SET IT UP to happen. I put him in close contact with his sheep and teach him how to move them without the panic, tension and fly by flanks. Most of  his issues are in one direction and (on that flank) he’s either too wide or tight. So, I work up close with flank, stand, flank making sure he’s the correct distance, thinking calmly and with purpose. When he “looses it” and grips … he gets a CALM correction (me getting hyped isn’t going to help him flank calmly and thoughtfully).

Along the “same line” – I had a friend email me about downing her dogs. Her dogs work on their feet and she’s was trying to decide if she should push the issue and make them just “lie down”. My thoughts were to take in to consideration all the factors (instead of saying YES down the dog no matter what). Is her dog cheating on the stand? Is she saying down when she REALLY doesn’t mean it (and saying it in the same TONE as when she really needs a “panic” down?).

Is she using the down as a crutch so the dog is learning to lean on it? So, in my (always analyzing – never still) mind … she needs to sort what she WANTS from a down. What is she trying to communicate with her down “word” and what is the dog actually “hearing”. Her communication might be “fuzzy” and the dog truly doesn’t understand. Or, it could be the dog just doesn’t want to do it (some dogs have a hard time lying down because physically it’s awkward for them … others can lie down and stand up in one movement). What will she loose/gain if she gets a lie down instead of a stand? Downs can take the power away from some dogs but with other dogs it makes them think more calmly.

Sure, she can just say lie down and MAKE the dog and never worry about it ..  but if she doesn’t take the time to understand what she wants/needs and communicate that to her dog … then all she will get is a physical down (and sometimes actually that’s all that’s needed).

So try to understand what you want from the dog before you put a word/action to it then communicate it clearly and calmly to your partner.

4 responses

  1. Thanks Candy,

    good stuff as always, hope you are well have not seen you in awhile.

    April 28, 2011 at 11:08 am

  2. Thanks …

    Doing great but NOT looking forward to summer heat :@)

    I heard you were sick – hope you are feeling better!

    April 28, 2011 at 11:10 am

    • yeah had a bad sinus infection about a month long battle better now.

      April 28, 2011 at 11:27 am

  3. “Been there – done that” more than once :@( Stay well! Hard to work dogs when you are sick.

    April 28, 2011 at 1:02 pm

Leave a Reply

