Candy Kennedy – Trials and Errors

Finals Prep

Spent the day (Sat Sept 19th) with all the hard working crew that put on the National Finals. It’s unreal how much prep goes into this trial (not taking into account the months before the this prep began). Geri has a GREAT support system and everyone today worked long and hard with a great attitude … you tell they do it for the love of the sport.

It started with walking the course a dozen or more times trying to figure the best direction to run it … where the handlers could have a good run, the judges could have a clear view and the spectators could see the action. A lot of thought went into each aspect.

Driving 20 miles to load up the trailer with sheep panels … only  to drive the 20 miles back to the trial site to unload it. Of course not all of them would fit so had to repeat the 20 mile trip. Another trailer load of fencing and T posts had to be brought in and unloaded. While this was going on another crew spent the  day putting fencing up for a night holding pen for the sheep.

Then came 2 triple decked  semis loaded with  sheep and everyone stepped in to help get them in the holding pen. Of course, someone has to stay the night with the sheep (hate to loose 700 sheep :@)

“All the while” we were driving around the farmer baling the hay and the “tent guys” who were busy setting up the huge tents for handlers and spectators.

It was a full day of work and they will be back “bright and early again tomorrow and Monday.

3 responses

  1. I don’t know If I said it already but …Excellent site, keep up the good work. I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read..Jim Bean

    October 1, 2009 at 6:17 am

  2. I usually don’t post on Blogs but ya forced me to, great info.. excellent! … I’ll add a backlink and bookmark your site. 🙂

    October 6, 2009 at 1:43 pm

  3. I don’t know If I said it already but …Cool site, love the info. I do a lot of research online on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read….

    October 8, 2009 at 9:09 pm

Leave a Reply

